Brake bleeding issue

Post suspension issues and questions here

Moderators: kamzcab86, CalAltaDubber

cavenut
What year is your cabby?: 1986
Do you own a Cabriolet?: Yes

Brake bleeding issue

Post by cavenut »

Ok, first off I might be a newbie here but have worked on many many cars. So here is my issue. I purchase a 1986 cabriolet for my daughter. Its a great ride. But before I turn it over to her I wanted to replace the brakes. I removed the front calibr. and checked them. I thought the things where good and just put on new pads. But I removed them and cleaned them (off car) Returned them after I had the rotors turned and checked ( they are on the correct side), EZ Cheesy. Then I bleed the brakes. Keep in mind I wanted to clean the fluid too and had push lots of fluid thought the lines, it was like pushing mud out, 3 qts (4liters). I used the buddy system, my son pumped and I worked the refill and bleed. When I was done I took it out for a quick run and checked out the brakes. All went well, I lock the brakes 3 times and worked good no pull. But a block later the pedal went to the floor. I puppied it home. Bleed the brakes just in case there was more air. Brakes where hard as a rock.But when I start the car and hit the brakes they go to the floor. So I bleed them again, rock hard then start the car and boom the brake goes to the floor. I don't get it. I checked a lot. The clutch looks to be straight cable so its not in the mix. This ones got me. I hope there is something all the folks out there know. I have worked on any a car but never a VW and this has really got me wondering.
Briano1234
Whats that smell?
What year is your cabby?: 1992
Do you own a Cabriolet?: No

Re: Brake bleeding issue

Post by Briano1234 »

If you didn't bench bleed the master cylinder then it may still have air in the system.

if you can manually pump the brakes rock hard and they hold firm with out bleeding off, then apply vacuum boost and they sink to the floor.