New member with top question

Post body issues and questions here

Moderators: kamzcab86, CalAltaDubber

Spykce
What year is your cabby?: 1986
Do you own a Cabriolet?: Yes

New member with top question

Post by Spykce »

First off I just want to say hi to everyone. I have been reading posts for a while now and finally joined. There is a lot of great info here!

As for my cabby, it's no looker right now but it is solid and I'm coming along on it. I have been playing with cabby's for about 4 years now since I met my girlfriend and she had one. She now has has one I rebuilt for her and painted pink, since she had to sell hers to help pay for college.

Here's a few pictures:

Mine:

Girlfriend's Current Cabby:

Her old one

Her white one is what got me interested in VW's, before I had old Datsun Z cars, which I still love. However I recently bought my cabby and finally got a radio in it, and the leaks resolved and now I am looking into a top. For my girlfriends I had a shop do it. While it doesn't leak, I'm not happy with the fitment of the headliner in particular. I am considering doing this one myself, and have read Briano's(?) post several times. I have simply never done anything that involved upholstery wise. Opinions? Also color choice, the car is doing to be green, scirocco green to be exact. I'm thinking black top but I have been considering white.

Thanks for reading! Enjoy the pics I hope!
CalAltaDubber
Frozen Guy in the Northern Country
What year is your cabby?: 1987

Re: New member with top question

Post by CalAltaDubber »

Hi and welcome to TRF.

Thise are some nice cars. I do like your Girl friend's pink one. It shows very nicely.

Your car looks good to me too. I assume you have been looking at my thread about my project car.

I think a white top would look great on a dark coloured car (your green or my blue), but keeping a white vinal top clean is a next to impossable task.

Maybe Brian has a secret "how to" keep it clean.

In the end it is your choice.