Newbie with oil pressure issue

Post all your engine questions and issues here and get help from the members

Moderators: kamzcab86, CalAltaDubber

KC Guy
What year is your cabby?: 1993
Do you own a Cabriolet?: Yes

Newbie with oil pressure issue

Post by KC Guy »

First, let me say that I am NOT a mechanical guy, but I'm trying to figure out a problem so that I can present it to someone who is. I bought my daughter a 1993 cabrio with 47K miles on it. Oil pressure has been normal with no issues UNTIL I had the oil and filter changed. I delivered the car to her at college (about 100 miles away) and oil pressure was fine enroute until I took my foot off the gas to exit. I was met with the idiot light, buzzer, and very low pressure on the the gauge. I was told that the issue was most likely that they put in too light of a grade of oil at the change. I had the filter and oil replaced with 20W50. Oil pressure at highway speeds is about 2.5-3.0 Bar. At idle, the pressure drops to 1.0 or LESS. No buzzer or idiot light, but still very low pressure. Again, this issue only started after changing the oil. I can't say that I trust or distrust the local mechanic here. He's pretty pricey and also the only one who will work on VW Cabrios so I need to educate myself as much as possible before I hand over a blank check.

Any and all advice is GREATLY appreciated.
boschbabe

Re: Newbie with oil pressure issue

Post by boschbabe »

Join the club. My daughter's '93 only has 1.5 bar at freeway speeds and .5 at idle. The buzzer ran constantly until the cluster quit. She uses it every day including long trips. Don't like it but my standards have dropped with this car.
KC Guy

Post by KC Guy »

Thanks for the reply. Besides the low oil pressure, my concern is that this is such a change from what it was prior to the oil change. I'm not a big believer in coincidences.
CalAltaDubber
Frozen Guy in the Northern Country
What year is your cabby?: 1987

Post by CalAltaDubber »