how to locate and replace my oxygen sensor?

Post all your engine questions and issues here and get help from the members

Moderators: kamzcab86, CalAltaDubber

skittishsynapses
Do you own a Cabriolet?: Yes

how to locate and replace my oxygen sensor?

Post by skittishsynapses »

I'm rather new to the idea of working on a car. My girlfriend grew up where everything is diy, so she's been the driving force for doing work on my '87 cabby. We've purchased the Bentley manual and we've been doing work on the car whenever necessary. As a student, I don't have much to spend so I've had to work on Betsy (the cabby came with a name from a previous owner) in bits and pieces.

We've been planning on changing out the oxygen sensor for a while, but it wasn't quite a priority until recently where my poor car worked itself going up into a mountain area and the oil pan bolt loosened, dripping out half of the engine's oil in a few hour's time.

(The bolt had loosened because a friend of ours overtightened the bolt, stripping the threading on the oil pan a few oil changes ago. Replacing the pan, gasket and bolt on friday.)

The oil smelled heavily of gas. nothing cloudy, creamy or off colored. It's smelled that way for an couple oil changes now. We're guessing there's too much fuel in the fuel to air mixture. Now, where's the question in all this? haha.

Okay, so after looking at the Bentley, we can't quite pinpoint where the oxygen sensor is located. I found some photos on this site:

http://www.geocities.com/jonnyguru/vw/o2.html

but don't know if that applies to my car's year. Even then we're fuzzy as to where the oxygen sensor is. would anyone have any photos up we can look at? Oh, and would anyone know of any installation guides online?

I'm sure we'll have more questions about the senor later but for now, these are the important ones! thank you!

- Jonathan
CalAltaDubber
Frozen Guy in the Northern Country
What year is your cabby?: 1987